lumenEd logo

Gabrielle Smiley

CA$45 / hr

Gabrielle Smiley

Personality
I was grown in Jamaica. I did preschool all the way up to high school in Jamaica. Then I migrated to Canada to do final year of high school at AY Jackson SS. I wasn\’t satisfied with the system there so I decided I wanted to go back home. At the time I wanted to be a dentist or an architect. I picked a degree that would\’ve led me into dentistry. So I did one year of a degree in biochemistry in Ja. Then I changed my mind because the core courses was not to my liking and I wasn\’t as passionate about it. I researched careers in architecture, then my researched progressed to engineering and I found civil engineering. I found that a technology \”degree\” was offered at humber college so I moved back to Canada to pursue it. After three long years I completed an advanced diploma in Civil Engineering technology. After that I went on to pursue a civil engineering degree. Long story short I did not find i t was interesting because there was too much theory. I wanted to do a degree that was applicable to construction, building and useful in Toronto upbeat way of living. I found out about the Construction Management degree at George Brown College (GBC) which is the only degree of its kind in Central Canada. Then I applied and got through after two years. Now I\’m a recent graduate of GBC. I know what it is like to fail and be at the top of my class. I will say that I am resilient, ambitious, confident yet humble. I am hardworking and detailed orientated. I take pride in my work and I make sure it is of the best quality. I get along well with people in a group or one-on-one. I love kids and animals. I like to be outside just enjoying nature. I love to watch a good comedy show or suspenseful show. I think I can go on but I have said enough for now.

Biography (tutoring history)
I have been tutoring privately while I was in university back in freshman year 2011-2012. I tutored math such as functions and calculus. I tutored in college 2013 – 2015 at ECL tutoring service to high school students grades 8-12. I tutored math. Also in college I tutored privately 2017-2018 to my colleagues. I tutored estimating which is mainly math with a focus on problem solving, basic arithmetic and conversions.

Degree(s)
Bachelors of Technology in Construction Management G

Interest(s)
Netflix, gardening, listening to podcasts, walking in parks

Teachable grade(s)
JK
SK
Grade 1
Grade 2
Grade 3
Grade 4
Grade 5
Grade 6
Grade 7
Grade 8
Grade 9
Grade 10
Grade 11
Grade 12

Teachable subject(s)
English
Math
Biology
Chemistry

Other teachable(s)
carl to update

  • October 2020
  • Su
  • Mo
  • Tu
  • We
  • Th
  • Fr
  • Sa
  • 01
  • 02
  • 03
  • 04
  • 05
  • 06
  • 07
  • 08
  • 09
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
  • 24
  • 25
  • 26
  • 27
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31
    Please Pick a Date

If you have pre-arranged a mutually beneficial meeting location with The French Tutor, please specify it here. Otherwise, your session will be held online at the tutor’s virtual classroom, which will be shared upon confirmation.

If we don’t already know you, please tell us anything that will help us deliver a quality tutoring service for you.